Child Development GCSE



GCSE Child Development involves students studying the physical, intellectual, social and emotional development of young children from conception to five years. It aims to encourage an understanding of the roles and responsibilities of being a parent, pregnancy, the needs of young children and the social and environmental influences which affect family life. It seeks to encourage students to think critically and make informed choices based on the knowledge they acquire.


Course Content

Reproduction, pregnancy and childbirth
Parenthood and its responsibilities
Family planning and conception
Pregnancy and preparation for birth
Child Development – (0-5 years)
Birth to 5 years (stages of development and factors affecting physical, intellectual, social and emotional
Needs of the young child – including dietary
Child safety and coping with illness and disability
Childcare provision
Support and information available to parents



Examining Board: CCEA


GCSE Child Development is comprised of 3 modules:


Unit 1 – Parenthood, Pregnancy and the Newborn Baby

(1 hour 15 min exam) – 30%


Unit 2 – The Development of the child (0– 5 yrs)

(1 hour 15 min exam) – 30%


Unit 3 – Controlled Assessment /Coursework -Investigation task

(1 task) – 40%


Assessment is therefore:

2 examination papers – 60%

1 controlled assessment task – 40%


Teaching Methods

GCSE Child Development is taught using a full range of teaching methods from independent learning and group work to the use of video clips and DVDs. The use of ICT is actively encouraged as pupils research and develop ideas for controlled assessment (using relevant software and the Internet) and present their ideas accordingly. Learning is further enhanced by engaging with outside agencies, for example health visitors and school nurses who bring their expertise into school for the benefit of the pupils.