Inescapable Reading Culture – Brann Readers Take the Lead!

By Ballyclare High School on 5 February, 2021

 

Two great Year 9 reading recommendations

 

The current lockdown has afforded some KS3 readers the time to fill their Starbooks cards with great reading

options. Brann readers forged ahead this month with Aikin, Dixon and Russell following closely behind in that order!

Don’t forget that parents can sign the Starbooks reading cards too.

Let me, your English teacher or form tutor know when you reach four books and then when you complete your card with 8 books in total so that you can go into the draw.

Would You Like to Start Your Own Book Group?

Our librarian, Mrs Scott has spotted a great opportunity! She says: Book clubs in schools'(bookclubsinschools.org) are currently promoting free resources to run a book club for pupils at home. They have selected the book ‘I have no Secrets’ by Penny Joelson which can be downloaded for 99p.

This is what Amazon had to say:

‘Fourteen-year-old Jemma has severe cerebral palsy. Unable to communicate or move, she relies on her family and carer for everything. She has a sharp brain and​inquisitive nature and knows all sorts of things about everyone. But when she is confronted with this terrible secret, she is utterly powerless to do anything. Though that might be about to change…A page-turning thriller seen through the eyes of a unique narrator, this is a truly original, heart-rending, and compulsive book for young adult readers. Perfect for fans of WonderThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-time and Looking for JJ.'”

Happy reading everyone and let me know if you decide to start a book group. I know my own book group has been a source of strength and delight throughout these challenging times.

If you need inspiration for a good book, look up our frequently updated pupil and teacher video book reviews which are found @bhswritelines. https://twitter.com/bhswritelines?lang=en

Mrs C Thompson

Head of Literacy