Cricket Report Tuesday 27th June

By Ballyclare High School on 27 June, 2023


The summer term of cricket at Ballyclare High School came to a dramatic conclusion on Monday afternoon as the 1st X1 lost narrowly to Foyle College in the semi final of the President’s Plate competition.

Bidding to emulate the 2018 team which won this trophy for the first and only time in the School’s history, the Ballyclare 1st X1 batted first and posted an impressive score of 128 for 3 off their allocation of 20 overs. The leading scorers were captain Finn Lutton with 47 and Andrew Leckey with 44. After 16 overs of their reply, Foyle were 98 for 5 and the outcome of the game was in the balance. Despite a run out off the first ball of the last over, the Foyle batsmen managed to secure the remaining nine runs required to earn a final place against Down High. Jack Smyth returned the best bowling figures, taking 2 for 14.

At last week’s Summer Honours assembly, the following players were recipients of cricket awards.

1st X1     James Hood and Luke Wilson

U15        Jude Wilson and Nathan Lynas

U14        Jack Smyth, Cooper Donnelly, Jack Morrow

U13        Jacob Donnelly, Sam Leetch

U12        Daniel Gerrish, Scott Robson

The O’Hara Cup for best senior cricketer was awarded to Finn Lutton and the RUC Shield for best junior cricketer went to Jack Smyth.

Finn Lutton was awarded an honours blazer in recognition of his selection for the Ireland Under 19 team and Jude Semple and Jack Smyth were acknowledged for their Under 14 NCU selection.

Congratulations are also extended to Jacob Scarlett who was selected for the Ulster Schools’ team to play against the MCC and for the inter-provincial match against Leinster.