Table Tennis



Coming along to the Table Tennis club can be a great way to wind down after a hard day at school. There is a relaxed atmosphere in the hall and membership is open to players of all ages and disciplines. Pupils with a wide range of abilities attend, from Ulster medallists to complete beginners.

We set up a special machine to help pupils with their technique and older pupils enjoy passing on their expertise to our younger members. There is a steep learning curve at the beginning and you will be pleasantly surprised at how much improvement you can make in a matter of months.

Throughout the year pupils participate in league competitions. In addition, there is an annual knock-out competition where teams across Ulster come to compete for the Cup.


Ballyclare High school have eight table tennis tables which are used for our club. These are set up on a Friday afternoon in the assembly hall and gym.



We are delighted to report that our table tennis teams have triumphed once again at Ballyclare High School. Our U15 boys team won the Ulster Schools Championships; a great achievement considering this is now their third consecutive title. Our girls also won the U19 category. Both teams now qualify for the All Ireland Championships which will take place in Dublin later in the year.

U15 Boys Team: Conor Dargan, Sebastian Kidd, Max Gannon, Peter Baird, Alex Darrah, Caleb Crawford

U19 Girls Team: Jessica Baird, Victoria Irwin, Saffy Cockcroft, Megan Tumelty, Holly Tumelty, Emily Skillen.






Ulster Schools’ Table Tennis Championships


Ballyclare High won the U13 Boys and U19 Girls at the Ulster Schools’ Cup Championships at Lisburn Racquets Club. They beat fierce competition from a number of different schools and will now go on to represent Ulster at the All Ireland Schools’ Cup at Tallaght, Dublin next month.


U13 Boys – Conor Dargan, Alex Darrah, Max Gannon, Sebastian Kidd, Peter Baird & Caleb Crawford.


U19 Girls – Jessica Baird, Victoria Irwin, Holly Tumelty, Megan Tumelty, Ellen Hall, Saffy Cockcroft.



Mrs A Watt

Mr J Nelson